Moon darkness


Sat 11. December 2021, 17.00


Arvo Pärt Centre


Andres Kaljuste (viola)
Sophia Rahman (piano)



Franz Schubert – Arpeggione Sonata D 821
Rasmus Puur – Distantia II (world premiere)
Paul Hindemith – Sonata for viola and piano op 11 nr 4

Andres Kaljuste and Sophia Rahman’s concert “Moon Darkness” is a direct reference to the ensemble’s previous concert “In the Moonlight”, which was held at the centre in the middle of summer and treated the audience to violin and piano compositions written by composers with links to Laulasmaa. On a dark winter’s night, however, the focus is on completely different thoughts and feelings with a programme that celebrates the mellow sound and dark timbre of the viola. The concert will feature what is probably one of the most-played works for the viola, Franz Schubert’s Arpeggione Sonata, as well as the equally delectable viola sonata by Paul Hindemith. What makes the concert unique is the premiere of Rasmus Puur’s new piece for viola and piano.




The Centre is closed on May 19. Happy Pentecost!

Join our newsletter