Night Concert


Sat 1. July 2023, 21.00


Arvo Pärt Centre


Johan Randvere (piano)


Helilooja OÜ


Pianist Johan Randvere’s midsummer solo concert at the Arvo Pärt Center offers breathtaking insights into Estonian piano music alongside masterpieces of world piano literature, reflecting the world and man on a very broad scale – from the universe to the individual level. The world-famous third movement “Moonlight” of Debussy’s “Bergamo Suite” and Beethoven’s legendary “Moonlight Sonata” take your thoughts to the night sky. The sky is also inspired by the contrasting and mystical constellations of the recently deceased Urmas Sisask from the cycle “Southern Sky”. Arvo Pärt’s early tintinnabul style piece “Variations for the healing of Arinushka” and the melodious bagatelles of Valentyn Sylvestrov, a peer of Pärt’s age and thought, Ukrainian composer, provide space for an introspective flight of thought. An attentive listener has a lot to discover in Timo Steiner’s nuanced work “And then leave everything you’ve got and go”.

Johan Randvere is a pianist with numerous awards and competition wins. His stage experience includes performances in prestigious halls such as New York’s Carnegie Hall, Vancouver’s Chan Center, Milan’s Puccini Hall and others, and soloing in front of many orchestras, including the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, the Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra and the Vanemuine Symphony Orchestra. Randvere has received the Estonian Cultural Endowment’s annual award Live and Shine (2017) and a scholarship from the Estonian Interpreters’ Union.

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
The Bergamo Suite (1890-1905)
I Prelude
II Minuet
III “Moonlight”
IV “Passepied”

Valentyn Sylvestrov (1937)
Selection of Bagatelles (2005-2006)

Arvo Pärt (1935)
“Variations on the healing of Arinushka” (1977)

Urmas Sisask (1960–2022)
A selection of constellations from the “Constellation Cycle” No. 2 “Southern Sky” Op. 52 (1994-1995)

Timo Steiner (1976)
“And then leave everything you’ve got and go” (2017)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 “Moonlight Sonata”
I Adagio sostenuto
II Allegretto
III Presto agitato


On December 14, the Centre closes at 15.00. We apologise for the inconvenience.