Arvo Pärt and Veljo Tormis awarded the PÖFF Lifetime Achievement Award


The laureates for the PÖFF Lifetime Achievement Award were announced at the opening ceremony of the 19th Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival (PÖFF) at the Nordea concert house last Friday. This year, it was awarded to the composers Veljo Tormis and Arvo Pärt for their large creative contribution in cinematography. Works by both composers were performed at the ceremony by a vocal ensemble Estonian Voices in their special arrangement.

PÖFF Lifetime Achievement Award has been awarded since 2004 to directors Elbert Tuganov (2005), Aki Kaurismäki (2006), actors Max von Sydow (2008), Maja Komorowska (2014) amontg others.

Join our newsletter