Sat 15. April 2023, 17:00


Arvo Pärt Centre


Anna-Liisa Bezrodny (violin)
Maksim Shchura (piano)


In April, the duo Anna-Liisa Bezrodny and Maksim Shchura will perform a programme with a fairy tale as its central motif, captivating listeners of all ages with its rich imagery, colourfulness and interweaving of fantasy and reality.

Rooted in the depths of centuries, the fairy tale is a figurative way of showing people how to overcome difficulties and trials while remaining themselves. Every fairy tale teaches us something – honesty, kindness, generosity, gratitude, benevolence. It teaches us to be a better person.

The concert will feature arrangements of orchestral pieces for violin and piano, mainly from the 20th century, with works by Debussy, Rachmaninov, Taneyev and Stravinsky. Sergey Prokofiev’s Violin Sonata in D major was completed by the composer at the same time as his ballet Cinderella, whose fairytale reflections we encounter in a more chamber form.

Violinist and teacher Anna-Liisa Bezrodny is the winner of several international competitions, as well as the 2006 Guildhall Gold Medal winner in London. Maksim Shchura is a pianist and music researcher who obtained his master’s degree at the Royal College of Music in London, where he also defended his doctoral thesis. He has won prizes at prestigious competitions and, together with violinist Michael Foyle, they won the Salieri-Zinetti International Chamber Music Competition and the European Beethoven Piano Society Duo Competition in 2015.


Claude Debussy
– ”Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun“

Igor Stravinsky
– Suite from the ”Firebird“
Infernal Dance of King Kastchei

Sergey Taneyev
– Concert Suite op. 28
III. ”Fairy Tale“

Sergey Rachmaninov
– ”Daisies“ op. 38 No. 3

Sergey Prokofiev
– Violin Sonata No 2 D major


25/15/50 EUR