Gems from Song Celebrations


Wed 27. March 2019, 19.00


Arvo Pärt Centre


Old Town Educational College String Orchestra
Conductor Rasmus Puur


In programme: Karl August Hermann, Aleksander Läte, Miina Härma, Mart Saar, Tuudur Vettik, Gustav Ernesaks, Veljo Tormis, Ester Mägi and Tõnu Kõrvits.

Arrangements for string orchestra: Rasmus Puur

At the concert Gems from Song Celebrations we can hear well-known choral pieces from song celebrations arranged for string orchestra. The programme includes works by classics like Miina Härma, Mart Saar and Aleksander Läte as well as contemporary composers Ester Mägi and Tõnu Kõrvits. While we are usually accustomed to listening to these songs with our attention on the lyrics, this time we will turn our eyes and ears only to the music. This way, these well-known songs can offer an unexpected and fresh surprise before the jubilee Song Celebration this summer.

The concert is part of the series 159 Years from the First Song Celebration from 13 January until 20 June. The Old Town Educational College String Orchestra will perform the same programme at the Türi and Avinurme cultural centres as well as in the White Hall at the Rakvere municipal government building.

Established in 1996, the Old Town Educational College String Orchestra is a student orchestra formed by the students at the Tallinn Old Town Educational College, with its 23 young musicians ranging from 13 to 19 years. The repertoire of the orchestra consists almost solely of Estonian music, spanning from Cyrillus Kreek, Heino Eller and Veljo Tormis to Tõnu Kõrvits, Margo Kõlar and Pärt Uusberg. The Old Town Educational College String Orchestra performs approximately 30 concerts per season around Estonia and occasionally also abroad.

The orchestra has cooperated with several inspiring musicians from various genres: Riivo Kallasmaa, Johan Randvere, Marten Altrov, Mari Kalkun, Liisi Koikson, Mari Jürjens and Jarek Kasar among others. Its collaboration partners also include established professional musicians Egert Leinsaar (ENSO), Tiina Mäe, Rain Vilu (ENSO) and Villu Vihermäe (ENSO).


Entrance with a ticket to the centre. A donation can also be made to the orchestra.


On July 8 the Centre will be closed for visitors at 16.00.