Mantas Šernius. Milky Way


Sat 30. September 2023, 19:00


Arvo Pärt Centre


Mantas Šernius (piano)


Helilooja OÜ


Mantas Šernius, the acclaimed Lithuanian pianist, will perform a captivating solo program at the Arvo Pärt Centre. Among his recent significant achievements are winning the 1st prize at the 9th Estonian Pianists’ Competition in 2019 and the 1st prize at the International Tchaikovsky Competition in China in the same year. Šernius has been a recipient of the Liechtenstein International Music Academy Scholarship and the Yamaha Music Foundation Europe Scholarship. He has also received awards from the President and Prime Minister of Lithuania for his outstanding achievements in international competitions. Mantas Šernius has performed in Portugal, Finland, Iceland, Sweden, Germany, and the UK. He has been a soloist with the Estonian National Symphony Orchestra and the EAMT Symphony Orchestra. Šernius studied under the guidance of Prof. Fali Pavri at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and with Prof. Ivari Ilja at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre. Currently, he is a doctoral student at the EAMT, focusing on the piano music of Lithuanian composer Stasys Vainiūnas. “Mantas Šernius’ playing is vibrant and distinctive, showcasing pianistic mastery. His performances are characterized by thoughtfully constructed musical forms and structures, as well as an emotionally captivating temperament. The romantic piano repertoire, which aligns particularly well with Mantas’ artistic nature, allows his finest pianistic qualities to shine most convincingly,” notes Prof. Ivari Ilja.

The concert will feature the pianist’s unique interpretation of Vainiūnas’ charming Little Insect Suite, where each movement portrays a small creature in a playful manner. Claude Debussy’s masterful preludes, The Sunken Cathedral and Fireworks, will create vivid and colorful images in the listener’s mind. From the Estonian music repertoire, Šernius will perform Pärt Uusberg’s Hingelinnutee I (Milky Way – a Path of Souls), the obligatory piece of the 9th Estonian Pianists’ Competition, known for its emotionally rich melodies and enchanting harmonic language. The evening will be adorned with two crown jewels of romantic piano music – Fryderyk Chopin’s Scherzo No. 2 in B minor and Ferenc Liszt’s monumental Sonata in B minor. Both pieces demand exceptional technical prowess, virtuosity, and profound emotional sensitivity from the pianist.


30 EUR


Join our newsletter